Update | The 2020 Beacon Awards in association with oOh!media

Posted 20 November 2019.

The 2020 Beacons must go on! .. with a few changes.

We have had an overwhelmingly positive response to the invitation to online judge this year’s Beacon Award entries, many judges expressing that they were looking forward to keeping their minds busy by focusing on the excellent media campaigns from last year as we all adjust to the new normal.

There are now new dates (below), for announcement of finalists, creative material requirements, and a date for the announcement of winners at the end of May. We’re also starting to plan for a ceremony and industry celebration later in the year, when we are able to gather in large groups again. In the meantime, we are heading online to judge both prelim and category rounds over the next few weeks, and will be making use of ZOOM to conduct our category round discussions with the Convenor of Judges, Simon Lendrum on hand to help with eligibility and other queries. And who knows, maybe by the time we reach the Executive judging day we can hold this gathering in person again… Here’s hoping.

A massive thanks to our Commercial Partners, oOh!media and TVNZ, and sponsors, Bauer Media, Nielsen, TRB, Facebook, Google, mi9 and NZME for continuing to support the industry and The Beacon awards through these coming months.

Updated Dates:

Entry Writing Workshop: Thursday 30 January 2020 | NZME I Heart Lounge

Entries Close: Tuesday 25 February 2020 @ 4pm

48hr Deadline Close: Thursday 27 February 2020 @ 4pm

Scrutineering completed: Tuesday 17 March 2020

Online Preliminary judging: Thursday 2 April – Thursday 9 April

Finalists announced and told re campaign material: Thursday 16 April

Campaign Material Due: Tuesday 21 April

Category judging testing: Friday 24 April

Category Judging acces given actual (Online) : Thursday 30 April

Judging starts at 10am 30 April

Judging session finished at 3pm Friday 1 May

Conclusion of category judging (discussion by ZOOM in panels): Wednesday 6 May

Executive judging online review (TBC) : Thursday 7 May – Wednesday 13 May

Executive Judging Session: Thursday 14 May

Best in Show International Judging: Friday 15 May – Wednesday 20 May

Winners announcements (online TBC): Thursday 28 May

Sales Team of the Year (Judged by Media Exec Committee)

Sales Team of the Year Entries Open: Thursday 5 December 2019

Sales Team of the Year Entries Close: Tuesday 17 March 2020

Sales Team of the Year Judging Period: April - by Media Committee


Media Business of the Year (Judged by Media Exec Committee)

Media Business of the Year Entries Open: Thursday 5 December 2019

Media Business of the Year Entries Close: Tuesday 17 March 2020 @ 4pm

Media Business of the Year Judging Period: April - by Media Committee


Rising Star (Judged by Beacons Steering Committee)

Rising Star Entries Open: Thursday 5 December 2019

Rising Star Entries Close: Tuesday 17 March 2020 @ 4pm

Rising Star Entries Judging Period: April - by Beacons Steering Committee


Media Agency of the Year

Media Agency of the Year Entries Open: Thursday 27 February 2020

Media Agency of the Year Entries Close: Thursday 16 April 2020 @ 4pm

Media Agency of the Year Judging Period: Monday 6 April - Monday 20 April 2020

TVNZ