Effie 2023 | Shadow Judges Announced

The First Five Rungs have announced the FFR Shadow Judges for the 2023 Effie Awards in Association with TVNZ

The FFR Shadow Judges are Stephanie Fairey (Bastion Shine), Lydia Sleeman Bailey (The Monkeys), Caitlin Knox (Dentsu), Zoë MacDonald-Mair (Quantum Jump), Jeremy Sinniah (Special), Kirsten Bray (Young Shand), Chelsea Knowles (Motion Sickness), Alexandra Fenwick (VMLY&R), and Tayler Gover (OMD Wellington).

The FFR Shadow Judging programme was incredibly competitive and the support across the advertising landscape has shown the programme’s potential to expand across Axis and Beacons. Providing more opportunities for those in their first five years across the industry, to learn more about the judging process early in their careers.

Says Aroha Gell, chair of FFR in the Capital: “We couldn’t be more stoked with the positive reception this programme has had. With a mīharo selection of people to kick off the pilot, we’ve been reassured more opportunities are on the horizon. Giving industry newcomers better opportunities earlier in their career is ultimately why FFR exists. Mā mua ka kite a muri, mā muri ka ora a mua (those who lead give sight to those who follow, those who follow give life to those who lead).”

The collective of FFR Shadow judges chosen for this panel represent a range of different agencies. FFR believe that the range of participants will allow a deeper understanding of the judging of award-winning work, so as not to replicate, but create revolutionary work that breaks the mould from an industry newcomer perspective.