beacon 2022 header

beacon 2022 | finalists announced

Click here to view the finalist's list

The biggest night on the Media Industry calendar is fast approaching, with finalists announced today for the 2022 Beacon Awards in association with oOh!media. Organised by the Comms Council, the 2022 Beacon Awards will be presented at a much-anticipated IRL (in-real-life) ceremony at the Aotea Centre in Auckland on Thursday 9th June.

Louise Bond, Convenor of Judges for Beacons 2022 said that “the Beacons in 2021 are proving to be a celebration of resilience, clever thinking, and effectiveness. The majority of our eligibility period was, of course, dominated by Covid. Marketing teams and agencies were suddenly confronted with completely new issues, with no playbooks to refer to. I imagine countless hours were dedicated simply to changing schedules, canceling campaigns, and being reactive.

But the entries this year show that what was also keeping those teams busy was the pursuit of new and clever ways to engage audiences, smart thinking that delivered great results, and a determination to be proactive, to get brands, products, and not-for-profit initiatives out in New Zealand, in front of the right audiences at the right time in all the right places. The calibre of entries, across the board, suggests all of the efforts to overcome the challenges 2020 presented were not in vain.

A panel of 118 judged the preliminary round online. They assessed entries and selected just over 120 entries from across the 25 Beacons categories to go through to the next round. The category judging discussions to determine the Silver and Gold Beacon winners will take place on the 12th of May at Eden Park attended by 90 senior-level industry leaders, and led by our eight Executive Judges. Angela Blair, General Manager NZ at Restaurant Brands Limited; Anne Lipsham, Head of Strategy at FCB Media; Gareth O’Connor, Managing Director at Harvey Cameron; Gemma Bevan, Head of Marketing, Communications and Customer Experience at Worksafe; Matthew Pickering, General Manager of Marketing at ANZ; Nicky Greville, Managing Director at Spark Foundry; Nick Vile, General Manager at oOh!media, and Rufus Chuter, Managing Partner at Together.

Final results will be ratified by the Executive Judges on May 26 and then all the confirmed Golds will be judged by our Best in Show global panel in late May.

The Comms Council would like to thank our commercial partners oOh!media, TVNZ, and thank our sponsors Nielsen, The Radio Bureau, NZME, Meta, Google, Cartology, and Warner Bros. Discovery. Thank-you for making the 2022 Beacons Awards possible.