beacon 2023 | executive judges

Top Industry Experts Chosen as Executive Judges for 2023 beacon awards in association with oOh!media.

The Commercial Communications Council (Comms Council) is excited to announce that judging has begun for the highly anticipated 2023 beacon awards in association with oOh!media. With a record-breaking number of entries received this year, the beacon awards aim to celebrate exceptional media strategy and planning in the industry. The executive judging panel, comprised of ten renowned industry experts, including the Convenor, Louise Bond, former Commercial Communications Council Executive Board chair, is now in session to select the most deserving winners.

To ensure the beacon awards accurately reflect the outstanding work of agencies for their clients, the beacon steering group conducts an annual review of the awards program. As a result of this year's review, the Best Use of Social and Best Use of Content categories have been merged, and the Best Launch and Media Innovation categories have been removed. Additionally, Advertiser of the Year has been eliminated, as it overlaps with Best in Show. Furthermore, the preliminary and category judging stages have merged to ensure consistency and that the best work is properly recognised.

This year's panel of executive judges includes Bridgette Smith, Founder of Lassoo Media; Nick Vile, General Manager of oOh!media; James Davidson, GM Planning of PHD; Richard Hale, Managing Director of dentsu; Natacha Clark, Innovation and Media Manager of DB Breweries; Ally Young, Skinny Strategic Lead of Spark NZ; Jane Stanley, CEO of Hearts & Science; Emily Isle, Chief Digital Officer of MBM; Sarah Kenny, Associate Director Marketing at University of Auckland, and Spencer Bailey, Country Director of Meta. For a complete list of this year's judges, click here.

The beacon awards ceremony will take place at the Aotea Centre on Thursday 15 June 2023. Tickets are selling out fast. To secure your spot, please click here. Don't miss this opportunity to celebrate the most outstanding media thinking in the industry with your peers.