Entries open for the Inspiring Individual Award 2021

Posted 19 February 2021.

Call for nominations are now live for the Inspiring Individual Award and can be found Here. Brought to you by Discovery New Zealand in honour of Sandy Smith.

Please send your completed form to James Wotton, Sponsorship & Events Manager - james@commscouncil.nz by EOP 26 March 2021.

The Comms Council and Discovery New Zealand are searching for the industry’s most inspirational leaders, with nominations now open for the Inspiring Individual Award. Nominated by their peers, the Inspiring Individual is the “unsung hero” in an organisation; the person who inspires others with their generosity of spirit, patience, willingness and passion, and who is integral to the company’s culture and success.

“Discovery NZ is extremely proud to continue to bring you the Sandy Smith award. It’s a wonderful way to honour Sandy’s philosophy and values, while also celebrating the inspirational leaders who are making a real difference in our industry today.”

Discovery New Zealand’s Head of, Donna Gurney says ”Discovery NZ is extremely proud to be continuing Sandy’s legacy and to bring the Inspiring Individual award back to the Beacons in 2021. Sandy was a hugely inspiring leader, mentor to so many and absolutely passionate about sharing her knowledge and developing young talent. We know there will be many inspirational stories from over the last year or so that echo Sandy’s values and we hope to see many individuals nominated”

Sandy Smith worked in the media industry for more than 25 years, building many enduring client relationships. Her expertise and understanding of the sector led to her involvement in groups dedicated to improving advertising standards, research and addressing key industry issues.

The Inspiring Individual Award was launched in May 2011 at the Comms Council Media Awards. The inaugural recipient was Richard Fenner, then of SparkPHD. Other recipients of this Award have been Liz Fraser, who at the time was General Manager MSN.co.nz and chairwoman of the IAB; Alistair Jamison, CEO, Starcom & VivaKi NZ and the 2013 winner, Louise Bond, CEO of SparkPHD, Claire Harris from Nielsen in 2014, Chrissy Payne of OMD in 2015, Julia-Ann Hedges in 2016, Matt Bale, Co-founder of MBM in 2017, Robert Harvey CEO of Dentsu in 2018 and Anne Lipsham, Head of Strategy at FCB Media in 2019.

So what is the Inspiring Individual Award?

This award celebrates the “unsung hero” in the company; the person who others find utterly inspiring with their generosity of spirit, their patience, their willingness and eagerness to be involved. The person integral to the company culture and passionate about contributing to the company’s success.

The Inspiring Individual Award nominees are selected by their peers. Nominees need to meet the following criteria:

  • Is a mentor for others - this person invests time in younger members of the team, inspiring them professionally and encouraging them to evolve as individuals.
  • Shares their knowledge and wisdom accumulated during their time in the industry
  • Is the person colleagues go to when they want an answer that will be wise, practical and honest.
  • Contributes to the media industry – this person sees the value in being involved in industry developments and initiatives in a constructive way.
  • Approaches challenges with a positive, can-do attitude.
  • Challenges the status quo with logic and reason.
  • Embraces the changes in our ever-evolving media landscape.

Nominations should include an explanation as to why the nominated individual is deserving of this award. A nomination form can be downloaded via the Comms Council website (www.commscouncil.nz) or by clicking here. Completed nominations should be sent to james@commscouncil.nz by 4:00pm, Friday 19 March 2021

The winner of the Sandy Smith Inspiring Individual Award will be announced at the Beacon Awards Show on 13 May 2021 and will receive $10,000 to be used to further their education, – an opportunity to gain further experience and knowledge to be shared.

Nomination forms can be found here.